Noir Photography

For this assignment I think that it was fun. For my project I did it on a mans life back it the old, old days. I think that this really turned out great and the mystery of this is why he is so sad and where is he going in his car. I think that the lighting of these turned out really awesome and pulls all these photos together. The funnest part of this assignment was going to my grandma and grandpa’s house and getting to dress up in some of their old things. I also liked how they were really excited about this and want to see the photos as soon as I am done! Me and my brother got to sit in their car and take photos and I got to drive it around the block because it was sitting in his garage all winter! This turned out to be a really fun project and I think I did a really great job. My inspiration was the Noir website because I just looked at that the whole time for ways for my brother to pose and also for how to get the lighting to make the photo look more extreme. I think it turned out great!!!

I like this photo a lot because it has a mystery to it. When I look at this I think about what is he looking at and where is he going. I think that with the old car and his outfit it brings this together. He was a great model and made this photo turn out great.

I like this photo a lot because it has a mystery to it. When I look at this I think about what is he looking at and where is he going. I think that with the old car and his outfit it brings this together. He was a great model and made this photo turn out great.

This is my other favorite because it shows the old effect really nicely. I like how the piano and cigarette and just the effect of everything in the photo adds to it. I think that it turned out really well.

This is my other favorite because it shows the old effect really nicely. I like how the piano and cigarette and just the effect of everything in the photo adds to it. I think that it turned out really well.

I really like the angle of this photo. To me it adds more to it I like how the light from the flash adds a ring in the photo. Usually I would not like that and use a different photo but in this it fits the photo better.

I really like the angle of this photo. To me it adds more to it I like how the light from the flash adds a ring in the photo. Usually I would not like that and use a different photo but in this it fits the photo better.

This photo also turned out really well. He is not really smoking it! But we wanted it in the picture because it adds more to it. The mystery in this photo is why is he so upset I think that this is the best one just because its a close up and has a lot of interesting things.

This photo also turned out really well. He is not really smoking it! But we wanted it in the picture because it adds more to it. The mystery in this photo is why is he so upset I think that this is the best one just because it’s a close up and has a lot of interesting things.

This is a really great photo of him close up. I like this a lot because it has interesting qualities from the steering wheel to him looking forward. I think that it turned out great and the lighting of this photo is really awesome.

This is a really great photo of him close up. I like this a lot because it has interesting qualities from the steering wheel to him looking forward. I think that it turned out great and the lighting of this photo is really awesome.

One thought on “Noir Photography

  1. Twitchell says:

    Great settings for the noir style, the car is perfect, at the piano is great as well.
    Lighting- looks like used direct on-camera flash, which can work some but would be better to challenge yourself and work with other lighting. Get a lamp. Just 1 in the room, and have that be the main source of light to give drama. Have all lights off except for headlights on the car… or perhaps 1 light from overhead in the garage… something that would get the light source other than straight on the subject.

    Like the setups, great concepts.

Leave a Reply

